Gold Coast ready for the 2016 Samsung Galaxy Championship Tour

Welcome to the 2016 Samsung Galaxy Championship Tour. The world’s best male and female surfers will battle for the initial points at the Quiksilver and Roxy Pro Gold Coast, in Snapper Rocks, Australia.
Adriano de Souza followed Gabriel Medina’s footsteps and took the 2015 world title. He will be the man to beat, as the Brazilian contingent seems to take over competitive pro surfing.

But the blue, green and yellow flag has more names to add to their army. Filipe Toledo, who won last year’s Quik Pro Gold Coast, will also be putting his fins at work to get a good result.

Jadson Andre, Caio Ibelli, Miguel Pupo, Alejo Muniz, Italo Ferreira, Alex Ribeiro, and Wiggolly Dantas join the Brazilian parade. How will Americans and Australians respond to the Latin offensive? Well, an in-form Kelly Slater – winner of the Volcom Pipe Pro 2016 – and the always-fit Mick Fanning might be the answer.

And then, we’re hoping John John Florence, Julian Wilson, Jordy Smith, and Michel Bourez step up their game in the 12 stages of the 2016 World Championship Tour. Taj Burrow, an all-time favorite, will probably take a last shot at the world title before announcing the retirement from the Dream Tour.

On the women’s side, Stephanie Gilmore chases her seventh world title, but she will encounter formidable opponents. Carissa Moore, the 2014 world champion, is always a serious contender; Sally Fitzgibbons, Bianca Buitendag, Tyler Wright, and Lakey Peterson will surely make everything they can to keep in the title race until the last wave of the year.

The first competition of the season will also award two wildcard spots into the men’s main event, and one for the women’s. The 2016 Quiksilver and Roxy Pro Gold Coast run from March 10th through March 21st, at the iconic Superbank.

Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast 2016 | Round 1

Julian Wilson (AUS), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Alex Ribeiro (BRA)
Owen Wright (AUS), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Conner Coffin (USA)
Filipe Toledo (BRA), Keanu Asing (HAW), Davey Cathels (AUS)
Gabriel Medina (BRA), Michel Bourez (PYF), Ryan Callinan (AUS)
Mick Fanning (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA), Wildcard
Adriano de Souza (BRA), Caio Ibelli (BRA), Wildcard
Italo Ferreira (BRA), Kai Otton (AUS), Kanoa Igarashi (USA)
Jeremy Flores (FRA), Taj Burrow (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Kelly Slater (USA), Wiggolly Dantas (BRA), Miguel Pupo (BRA)
Nat Young (USA), John John Florence (HAW), Jack Freestone (AUS)
Josh Kerr (AUS), Joel Parkinson (AUS), Kolohe Andino (USA)
Bede Durbidge (AUS), Jordy Smith (ZAF), Matt Banting (AUS)

Roxy Pro Gold Coast 2016 | Round 1

T. Wright (AUS), T. Weston-Webb (HAW), K. Andrew (AUS)
B. Buitendag, J. Defay (FRA), A. Quizon (HAW)
C. Moore (HAW), S. Erickson (USA), TBD
C. Conlogue (USA), M. Manuel (HAW), L. Enever (AUS)
S. Fitzgibbons (AUS), N. Van Dijk (AUS), C. Ho (HAW)
L. Peterson (USA), S. Gilmore (AUS), C. Tuach (BRB)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *