Grumari Beach is the primary contest site for the Oi Rio Pro 2016

The Brazilians love surfing, and the Oi Rio Pro 2016 is back in town. Thousands of enthusiastic surf fans will flock to Grumari between May 10th-21st. The decision has been made. Grumari will serve as the primary contest site for the Oi Rio Pro after a storm destroyed the event’s official structure at Postinho. The spot is located 45 minutes west of Rio de Janeiro, and offers multiple surfing opportunities: deep barrels and steep ramps. The competition will be broadcasted at Postinho, and local teams will work to try to get it back as an option as soon as possible.

“In some places, we can move just the judges or just some of the commentary team. The key is having all of that mapped out, so when it’s time for your plan B to hit, it’s just about pressing go and moving forward,” explained Megan Grant, general manager of the Championship Tour.

The logistic challenge is just the tip of the iceberg. Because all eyes will be on surfers and their ability to adapt to conditions and change. And there are many variables to dissect.

Will Matt Wilkinson keep his winning pace? How will the Brazilian Storm behave in home waters? Can Kelly Slater turn the page, and deliver and exciting performance? How will the rookies cope with the intensity of the Brazilian beaches?

Finally, the World Surf League didn’t express any concerns regarding the quality of the water in Rio de Janeiro. Were the problems solved? Have pro surfers been informed of recent tests?

Oi Rio Pro | Round 1 Match-Ups

Filipe Toledo (BRA), Michel Bourez (PYF), Alex Ribeiro (BRA)
Gabriel Medina (BRA), Kanoa Igarashi (USA), Dusty Payne (HAW)
Julian Wilson (AUS), Stuart Kennedy (AUS), Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA)
Italo Ferreira (BRA), Davey Cathels (AUS), Deivid Silva (BRA)
Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Bino Lopes (BRA)
Adriano de Souza (BRA), Jadson Andre (BRA), TBD
Nat Young (USA), Conner Coffin (USA), Jack Freestone (AUS)
Jordy Smith (ZAF), Josh Kerr (AUS), Adam Melling (AUS)
Jeremy Flores (FRA), Kelly Slater (USA), Ryan Callinan (AUS)
Kolohe Andino (USA), Wiggolly Dantas (BRA), Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Matt Banting (AUS)
Caio Ibelli (BRA), John John Florence (HAW), Keanu Asing (HAW)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *